OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development)

The OECD was established on 14 December 1960, replacing the OEEC (Organization for European Economic Cooperation), created in 1948 to manage the so-called “Marshall Plan” for the postwar reconstruction of the European economy.

The OECD oversees about 30 main Committees and over 140 secondary bodies, whose activities cover all topics and issues in the socio-economic sphere.

ENEA participates in the Committee for Scientific and Technological Policy (CSTP), acting on behalf of the Ministry for Research.

The CSTP, established in 1972, meets twice a year and has five subgroups working for it in the following sectors: biotechnologies; scientific and technological indicators; technological policy and innovation; human resources in the scientific sector and the world science Forum, in which delegates designated by the Ministry for the University and Research take part.