IEA (International Energy Agency)

The International Energy Agency (IEA) was created in 1974 following the first oil crisis, with the initial participation of 16 countries, including Italy. Current IEA members number 26 of the 30 member States of the OECD (with Iceland, Mexico, Poland and Slovakia excluded).

IEA activities centre on the analysis of the oil market and on energy emergency issues, long-term cooperation, energy efficiency, research, development, the demonstration and application of clean technologies, cooperation with non-member countries and the gathering of energy statistics.

ENEA participates in the Standing Group on Long-term Cooperation and in the Committee for Energy Research and Technology, of which it is Vice President, and in the Working group on Energy efficiency and the hydrogen coordination Group.

ENEA delegates to the IEA are designated in conjunction with the General Directorate of Energy and Mining Resources of the Ministry of Economic Development.

International cooperation in the sphere of energy technologies is carried out through Implementing Agreements, which allow governments or other organisations to pool resources and strengthen research into and the development of specific technologies.

ENEA participates in the following Cooperation (Implementing) Agreements:

Representatives in IEA Management Bodies

table of rappresentatives in IEA management bodies