IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency)

The IAEA, founded in 1957, is an intergovernmental organisation based in Vienna that operates under the UN, and whose Director General reports directly to the UN Security Council on issues related to nuclear non proliferation.

The Agency was established to implement the programme Atoms for peace launched by the USA at the Geneva conference of 1956, when knowledge about nuclear technologies was freed from military constraints. There are currently 138 IAEA members, including the five “nuclear powers” and the three countries (Israel, India and Pakistan) that have not signed the Non Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

The main activities of the IAEA relate to the following sectors:

  • protection (ensuring the fulfilment of obligations taken on by States signing the Nuclear Non Proliferation Treaty);
  • cooperation and technical assistance for developing countries;
  • the safety of nuclear facilities and security activities.

Italian participation in IAEA activities was relevant up until the late 1980s, but has since declined, in part as a result of national nuclear policies in the sphere of fission energies.

ENEA has offered specialist contributions to the Ministry for Foreign Affairs in the sphere of Nuclear Non Proliferation, “security” and the definition of strategies to optimise the nuclear fuel cycle for non proliferation.

ENEA representatives in IAEA Working groups.

ENEA representatives in Working groups of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

table of ENEA rappresentatives in IAEA working groups